Grass and Jade

9 Feb

Okay, here’s a real update. Enjoy.

Lately I’ve been realizing that I’m a “grass is greener on the other side” kind of girl. I always wonder how things are on the other side. Sometimes I think, shit, I should be single and doing whatever I want (except I tried that and it didn’t go so well. I’m happier now anyways). I think, man I hate my job, I should get a new one because all the other jobs out there could be way better than mine. I think wow, I could live in a really sweet apartment if I could save up enough money.

And then I start to get jaded and bitter. Why don’t I have nice things? Why don’t I have the coolest job ever with amazing perks and oh yeah, health insurance? Why don’t I deserve them? And it really gets to me.

But then I have to take a step back. I have to remind myself that I’m currently in the best relationship I’ve ever had, and I couldn’t possibly be happier. I have to tell myself that I don’t have the coolest career ever because I’m still in college. And for someone in college I have a pretty damn good job. What other 21 year old college student can say that they have a company matched 401(k), sick pay, paid vacation, and a double digit hourly income? I complain because I have to wear the company shirt, but really, I can live with it just a little while longer I think. I have to remind myself that I’m paying less than $300 in rent because I live in a cheap (for this part of town) duplex and I have three roommates. Yeah, I can’t wait to live on my own. But for now, its a pretty sweet deal.

So I need to take a deep breath, put on a movie, cuddle with my boyfriend with a nice glass of wine and just tell myself that most days, my life really isn’t THAT bad.

Leave a Reply

